Bad Back Clan: Advice Needed

Discussion in 'Training Forum' started by SomeRandoGuy, Mar 24, 2020.

1. SomeRandoGuy

SomeRandoGuy Member AnabolicLab.com Supporter

I’ve been spending my extra time going through training program after training program for a complete beginner like myself and I’m almost certain I’m going with Stronglifts 5x5 approach and using the basic 5 lifts.

I realize how absolutely critical form is and watching dozens of YouTube videos from Rippetoe and others on form and having been someone that ruptured L4/5 in my late teens/early twenties then had a microdiscectomy about 10 years ago and the lifts that scare me are the barbell row and the deadlift. I don’t have any current pain/limitations and haven’t for 8+ years but it’s always in the back of my mind the fear of another injury. But I realize I need to strengthen my core significantly to help my back. My plan is to approach these lifts very slowly and perhaps not even increment weight every session until I’m comfortable.

I’m curious if anyone has had back issues before to this extent and how it has or hasn’t affected your routine. Any and all advice is appreciated.

Millard Baker likes this.
  2. Storm127

Storm127 Junior Member

Good form and periodization type training works best for me and i have had discectomy surgery at L4/5, epidural shots and Facet joint injections over the years. I was pain free for 5 years up until this winter. Minor strain doing something stupid around the house. I do like TM and 5-3-1 training. I recover and progress a little better on 5-3-1. My back actually feels worse when I am not consistently strength training.

3. puckhog

puckhog Member AnabolicLab.com Supporter

I don’t wanna be negative but maybe your best bet is to avoid anything that puts pressure on your spine. That would mean no back squats, deadlifts, good mornings, bent over rows and possibly leg press.