Brolloks getting into PL

Discussion in 'Powerlifting Forum' started by Brolloks, Dec 28, 2017.

1. Brolloks

Brolloks Member

I've never considered getting into PL because I'm old and had several serious knee ligament tears which required surgery.

But over the last two or three months I've slowly been squatting heavier for the first time ever and managed 5 reps @ 462lb tonight. It didn't feel too tough, even though I jumped from 396, which was my previous PR.

The squat racks in my gym suck total ass - they're Hammer Strength ones with fixed catch points rather than a single adjustable j-hook, and because my shoulders are wide the worst part of the squat is re-racking. I often pinch the skin on my hands, but worse, have to move to the left or right to properly rack the bar, and have to kinda get on the tips of my toes at times.

The positives are that the knee pain I've always accepted as normal has gone away completely, and my quads are responding favourably.

Because I'm a novice lifter, I've decided to keep my workouts simple:

5x5xsquat
    5x5xdeadlift
    5x5xbench

I may throw in ancillary days because I get depressed when I have to spend too much time in my wife's company.

I'm not sure how good my form is, so seriously consider getting in some sessions with a national-level coach I've been referred to. Just because I haven't torn something doesn't mean I'm doing it right.

I haven't done 1rep maxes on anything other than the bench, which was a while ago @ 440lbs.

PRs on back squat is 5x396 and 4x462 on DL.

For reference, I'm 45 @ 5'11 and ~300lb. Using knee sleeves for squats and wrist wraps on the bench.

Diet is low carb high protein.

Current supps:

ED
    50mg Anavar

EOD
    .5ml 250mg test e
    1ml 100mg mast prop
    1ml 100mg npp

2. Subbed! ill be following along for sure.

any plans for a meet?

Brolloks likes this.
  3. Brolloks

Brolloks Member