Desperate for help in cutting

Discussion in 'Training Forum' started by Greek_beast95, Aug 15, 2018.

1. Greek_beast95

Greek_beast95 Member

What’s up guys before I start here’s my stats - 5’8 22 years old current weight 190 lbs starting weight 225 lbs

So I’ve been working out and dieting for about 4 months and have dropped down to 190, and for the last 3-4 weeks I have not been able to shed a single pound . My workout is basically all dumb bell based and do heavy sets at 3 sets of 6 reps and I don’t eat past 1500-1600 calories a day and I work construction all day long so I do break a good sweat everyday . I’m curious if maybe it’s time I move on from dumbbell only workouts and move over to squats , deadlifts , bench press and larger compound moves to help burn more fat
    Thanks

2. Rockclimber

Rockclimber Member

Switch to a clean bulk for a while with compound movements in the 10-12 rep range. That will refire your metabolism and make it easier to cut again in a few months.

Or if you really want to keep cutting I suggest carb cycling to keep the metabolism up. At 190 though I would bulk up to 205 or so then cut to 190 again. Rinse and repeat.

NorthMich likes this.
  3. Greek_beast95

Greek_beast95 Member

I appreciate that advice brotha my only issue is it’s so hard for me to mentally accept bulking , I’ve got a decent size gut on me still and it’s driving me crazy

4. brutus79

brutus79 Member

Stop concentrating on the scale
    Unless you are competing throw it away
    Go by looks
    Muscle weighs more than fat, so if you are doing well training and dieting your weight will be static or even go up as muscle/fat balance switches
    Throw away your scale.

5. flenser

flenser Member AnabolicLab.com Supporter

1500-1600 calories per day? Your TDEE is around 2800. You should literally be starving. Something doesn't add up.

Eman likes this.
  6. brutus79

brutus79 Member