Equipment issue

Discussion in 'Training Forum' started by Greek_beast95, May 2, 2018.

1. Greek_beast95

Greek_beast95 Junior Member

okay so I’ve been doing strictly dumbbell excersises for a couple months now and have been enjoying it , I have two adjustable dumbbells that both hold 100 lbs, problem is the handles were total crap and broke . And the weights that came with these handles aren’t standard 1” weights there 1 1/8” and I can’t find any dumbbell handles that I can buy online that are also 1 1/8” that hold 100 lbs, do you guys know of any and if not would it be a dumb idea to switch over to strictly lifting with Olympic dumbbells because I have plenty of 2” Olympic weights I could use if I purchased Olympic dumbbell handles, thank you!

2. Oldschool

Oldschool Member

What brand were the 'bells? Saw a combo pair 100 lbs for under 300$ Id go the olympic route as handles are about 30 bucks a piece.

3. Greek_beast95

The brand is unipack , I got them on amazon . I was thinking Olympic dumbbells would be bad ass because you can pack on so much more weight but I see that lots of people online say they suck to use And are awkward to workout with so I’m not sure which route to go

4. Evom1

Evom1 Member

They do, think of the clearance issues if you tried to let's say bench with them. Even with 25s on there, they're going to be hitting your arm as you go down

CAswole likes this.
  5. Oldschool

Oldschool Member

Thought i saw some longer ones that made it possible to put about 6 or 7 ten pound plates per side.

6. Evom1

Evom1 Member

That would be a great design!

7. Oldschool

Oldschool Member

Believe they were over 20 inches long. Believe they were made by Titan. I will try to find them again. Im going to pick a pair up shortly.

8. Oldschool

Oldschool Member

Screenshot_20180502-153323.png

CrispyRockClimber likes this.
  9. Greek_beast95

Now with those 20” handles wouldn’t the clearance and awkwardness be even worse ? I’m just curious

10. Oldschool