Goodbye ATG Squats

Discussion in 'Training Forum' started by Outlier, Dec 16, 2017.

1. Outlier

Outlier Member

I have been doing atg squats for several months. I have managed to work my way up to 435x5 for 5 sets and then I hit a plateau. However, I began noticing that my recovery time for quads began increasing. I typically train legs every 7th day and by day 4 I'm fine. That hasn't been the case with ATG squats. In fact, I typically have some residual soreness on day 7, 8, 9. I skipped leg day last week, which gave me two weeks off from any kind of quad training. Went to the gym this am to do ATG squats and during my warm up, I noticed that my quads actually 'ached' a little. My knees were fine but my quadriceps felt like shit. I have noticed similar feelings as I stand up from a seated position or get out of bed.

The rest of my body is fine. I could very easily hit chest, delts tris, back, biceps biweekly and recover fine. At this point, I'm switching to front parallel squats. Anyone else experience this with ATG squats or have any insight?

2. ickyrica

ickyrica Member

How much mobility work do you do? When I started hitting squats like a boss my mobility went to shit. ALL of my issues with squats were centered around mobility. Could be the case here, maybe not.

Millard Baker, Eman and Roger rabbit like this.
  3. Evom1

Evom1 Member

How much sleep are you getting?
    How is the quality of your sleep?
    Are you on cycle? If so what, if not do you have recent blood work?
    What is your diet?
    What is your water intake?
    Are you drinking an intra workout drink?
    How much soft tissue work are you doing? E.g foam rolling, deep tissue massage, Graston, cupping etc

All of these play a roll in recovery

Roger rabbit likes this.
  4. Roger rabbit

Roger rabbit Member

More than likely your hip flexors are tight and you have developed a slight pelvic tilt.

Nothing some good focused, specific stretching can't fix.