Home Gym: Stack vs Cage

Discussion in 'Training Forum' started by SomeRandoGuy, Mar 6, 2020.

1. SomeRandoGuy

SomeRandoGuy Member AnabolicLab.com Supporter

I’ve decided to purchase a home gym since my older kids have expressed an interest in it and I know I would use it if it meant not going to the gym.

I was originally focused on a stack system designed for beginners that was well within my desired budget of $500-750 (Marcy) but wondering if I’m doing myself a disservice by going that route and not something more advanced like a cage (1k)?

I’m a beginner that has focused mostly on cardio most of my life. The times I’ve lifted I’ve always used the station approach where I set the stack, sit in and perform the exercise. A cage seems far more flexible but leaves me open to the possibility of poor form etc.

Any thoughts on which way to go? Thanks!

2. BigBaldBeardGuy

BigBaldBeardGuy Member AnabolicLab.com Supporter

Free weights > machines

I’m going to open you to the world of garage gym addiction. Go on Craigslist. Check it 2-3 times a week. You can find decent racks for $200. Plates will be around $0.50-$0.60 a pound. Get a decent barbell for $150 and a nice adjustable bench for $200. Go to tractor supply and get 2 horse stall mats $35-$40 each. Boom. That’s all you need to start.

And here’s the addiction part... the stuff never devalues. So if you see a better rack that you like, but it and you should be able to sell your first one for at least the amount you paid for it.

I’ve gotten some great deals because people just want to unload what they got and get rid of it.

You can curl in your own rack too and there’s no waiting for it to open up. I have teenagers and they use all the equipment too.

In the age of YouTube, you can pickup technique in minutes.

3. SomeRandoGuy

Hadn’t thought to go the used route. I’m in a smaller city so might have limited options but thanks for making me think about this differently. Thanks BBBG!

4. Uglyrichie