LocalBitcoins to Source or wallet?

Discussion in 'Bitcoin and Cryptocurrency' started by The Caveman, Jun 20, 2017.

1. The Caveman

The Caveman Junior Member

Might be a dumb question, as I am still learning about bitcoin…

From LocalBitcoins, do you transfer direct to source, or to a separate wallet, and from there to source?

Thanks

2. Bender83

Bender83 Member

Never used local bitcoins, so take this with a grain of salt. The way I understand it is, you meet someone in person, give them money for their bitcoins and then they will transfer bitcoin to your wallet right then and there. So unless you give them the source btc address instead of yours, then it has to go to your wallet first.

I would say it would be a pretty dumb idea to have the guy you buy btc from, directly send it to the source. You have NO information about the transfer should there be an issue. Source could say they never got the btc and you have no proof that it was sent.

IMO always a good idea to transfer the btc to a couple of anonymous wallets before you send it out. You could also tumble them ( I don't but a lot of guys do). That said, I have a friend who doesn't even bother transferring to other wallets or tumbling, he has never had an issue, but that doesn't mean he never will.

3. Marcus

Marcus Member

Localbitcoins is an exchange. You 100% do not ever have to meet someone in person. I've used it many times with bank to bank transfer and once I bought and Amazon gift card it's cash from store and bought BTC with it.

Localbitcoins to another wallet, I did 2-3 jumps then Source. I'm still learning though too, but this has worked for me just fine thus far

grey and Bender83 like this.
  4. pumpingiron22

pumpingiron22 Member AnabolicLab.com Supporter

I would go for hidden wallet or samurai wallet make sure to use multi sig over Tor as well as 4 hops. Local BTC is a Good place. If you need any more advice feel free to scroll through my Threads in the crypto section.