Paging the resident dentist: IDMD...

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Structure, Mar 12, 2013.

1. Structure

Structure Member

Hey idmd, how's it going?

I've been staying away from recreational computing to give my wrists a chance to recover (hence my extended absence). I've logged on today with the express purpose of asking you a question or two regarding a subject you are well versed in: dentistry.

My wife recently got back a pretty impressive list of work needed from her new dentist (we've recently moved). Of course, I'm no expert, so my opinion that she takes good care of her teeth is neither here nor there. However, I can say that she is in her 30's and has only had two cavities in her lifetime. Her dentist says she currently has five cavities, one of which requires both a root canal and a crown. In addition to the five cavities, he's identified a filling that he says must be replaced with a crown. Altogether, it's going to cost just under $5,400.

Here's my question: I'd like to get a second opinion; we found him on the Internet, so it's not like we know anyone who will vouch for him. What's the best course of action? Is it within the realm of acceptable to request the x-ray films so that we can take them to be evaluated by another dentist? Would another dentist even honor such a request, or is this a frowned-upon practice? What would you do if you were me?

A penny for your thoughts. I hope all is still going well with your current endocrine regimen.

Take care

-Structure

2. idmd

idmd Member

Hmmm....how to answer this one?

I see second opinions all of the time and it is perfectly acceptable. I'll make the following comments:

1. Some dentists will be offended by the records request and some won't. I never understood this because the last thing I want to do is treat someone's kid who isn't 100% confident in me or my plan. I encourage anyone who wants a second opinion to go get one and if I sense hesitation I'll recommend they go get one.