Push pull vs bro split

Discussion in 'Training Forum' started by bigpoppachump2, Aug 4, 2020.

1. Alright old guys chime in here. I've been running a bro split for the last 6 months and although progress is a little slow. I feel great in my joints and everything cept for tendonitis in my right elbow which has been there for a while. I decided to switch back to a push pull routine cause I've always grown really well using it, all except for bicep and some isolated muscles which dont do well on the PPL.

Well last night I did my first push night and man I friggin hurt all over!! My shoulders are killing me, my back is tender etc etc. I think it's just to much rotation on my joints at this age as opposed to the bro split. Like going from chest to shoulders really set everything on fire and then throw in some tricep work and I'm a lame duck.

I wanted to run a PPL so I can get back to hitting some body parts twice a week again but I dont even know if I'll survive doing this once a week lol. Is the PPL routine just a young mans game? Are there any 40+ guys running this and finding work arounds to avoid all the stress on the shoulders and joints?

2. Bundy55

Bundy55 Member

I feel similarly about push pull... not enough recovery for my joints as I’m getting a bit older (35) much prefer the normal bro split just to keep injury’s away. Try cutting back your sets on each body part when you’re doing push pull that could help you some.

bigpoppachump2 likes this.
  3. I've already abandoned the PPL routine. It's just too much on the shoulder joints and back for me at this age.

Im going to sit down and write a new routine. Itll be like a bro split separating chest and shoulders etc but I also want to hit some body parts twice per week as some things grow better with more weekly volume.

4. 4Figgy

4Figgy Member