Social Media - The Good, the Bad, & the Ugly ...

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Michael Scally MD, Nov 25, 2018.

1. Michael Scally MD

Michael Scally MD Doctor of Medicine

Millard Baker likes this.
  2. Michael Scally MD

Seven Dog likes this.
  3. Michael Scally MD

4. Michael Scally MD

2/ I'm using sort of over the top language here. Facebook must be destroyed. Facebook Delenda Est #FDE. But it's actually true. And I mean it. I know there are great people out there who work at Facebook. I know some of them. But this is true. Through a mix of covering ...

3/ the news and things like the uses of the platform for paid propaganda campaigns, often illicit ones and also from being deeply involved in digital publishing since almost the beginning of digital publishing (i've been running TPM for 18 years), I have a pretty ...

4/ broad view and understanding of the full scope of Facebook's participation in the economies of publishing, telecommunications, distribution of information, uses of monopoly power etc. And on really every front, Facebook is a bad actor. I don't say this lightly or casually.

5/ In some cases, that's not simply or entirely a matter of intent. It's simply the way things grew up, how its control of certain things evolved, etc. There are key aspects of the way the internet creates network and path dependence that creates a heavy gravitational ...

6/ pull towards monopoly. But there are many gravitational pulls which need to be balanced with government regulation or anti-trust enforcement. But there is also a common and deep-seated pattern of bad-acting that you see repeatedly and in an entrenched form.

7/ I basically never go on Facebook anymore, though I have not deleted my account. Most of the time I've deactivated. I think at the moment my account is live but I never sign in. But I get that Facebook is cool for keeping in touch with people: school friends you never would ...