Testosterone replacement causing high blood pressure?

Discussion in 'Men's Health Forum' started by sime, Feb 9, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
    sime

sime Junior Member

I am currently on androgel 5mg/ a day. I have been noticing that my blood pressure has been a lot higher lately. Can a replacement dose of testosterone cause high blood pressure? Any help would be appreciated. Thanks.

ENDRO

ENDRO Junior Member

Yes hormone replacement will cause your blood pressure to elevate slightly, maybe to the level of hypertensive but it should drop as the body adjusts to the new level of hormone. This normal unless it is way up there.

sime

sime Junior Member

I have been using androgel for about 3 months. Still... my blood pressure has not adjusted. Trouble is, I would hate to get off of Androgel because it gives me a great sex drive. Thanks Endro.

sime

sime Junior Member

I would appreciate if SWALE could give a little input here. Thanks.

ENDRO

ENDRO Junior Member

WOW three months at that dose and it is still high I dont know what to say.

SWALE

SWALE Doctor of Osteopathic Medicine

Usually this happens only to those patients who suffer CHF (Congestive Heart Failure) or kidney failure.

On the other hand, NOTHING surprises me anymore. You may also have just developed HTN at that same point in time on your own. Or, you may be quite sensitive to the CNS-stimulating properties of the DHT boost you are getting from the transdermal delivery system.

sime

sime Junior Member

I have checked out my heart many times. In fact, I got it checked out last month with an EKG. The doctor said my heart is just fine. Could I possibly be holding too much water? Maybe an herbal diuretic such as Dandilion root would help? Thank you very much for your help SWALE. Let me know what you think about the water retention and diuretic. Thanks again.

SWALE

SWALE Doctor of Osteopathic Medicine

Well, that is just not a call I can make from here. Sorry.