The official CrossFit is as good as Bodybuilding thread.

Discussion in 'Training Forum' started by Rockclimber, Apr 11, 2019.

1. Rockclimber

Rockclimber Member

Now that I have your attention :D
    The title sounds humorous I know. Obviously I chose this title to get your attention, however after three months in a CrossFit box I have to say that CrossFit is pretty fucking amazing for bodybuilding. Some quick disclaimers before I move on. The box I am at is not affiliated with Crossfit I guess they didn't want to pay the fees or whatever. It's basically a high intensity interval training program with Olympic lifting as the primary focus with a secondary focus on cardio.

Yesterday's workout was simple:
    15 reps Powerclean
    15 reps incline bench
    15 toe touches each side
    250m run

You repeated this three times and then recorded your time. The fastest time wins. Most people knocked it out in about 20 to 30 minutes it took me a solid 45 minutes because I'm still new to it. I also powercleaned 265 where as a lot of the guys in there were doing the recommended 205 or less. I guess you can say I'm doing a mix of bodybuilding and Crossfit still.

The workout the day before was similar in that it was a full body workout as well only it worked more of the obliques and deltoids. It's really brutal trying to do this 5 days in a row, CrossFit is just Olympic lifting followed by some Sprints or rowing. I'm not sure why bodybuilders don't like crossfit? Maybe it's because my gym is not affiliated with Crossfit and therefore I haven't had to drink the real Kool-Aid.

I love how my gym focuses on squats, deadlifts, hang cleans, power cleans, clean and press, clean and jerk, etc. I've never had bumper plates that I could drop like this so I'm absolutely in heaven being able to drop these things from above my head. I wish I'd gotten into Olympic lifting earlier in my life this is you so much damn fun. Okay let the hateful comments commence! :D

hurricane likes this.