Yet another 5x5 question

Discussion in 'Training Forum' started by road warrior, Feb 9, 2005.

1. road warrior

road warrior Junior Member

Hey Bros...I am a pro am cyclist and started doing the 5x5 in early Dec I average 3 hrs on my bike perday and Sat and Sun are very intense and closer to 4 hrs in the saddle. Although I am definitely stronger as a result of the 5x5, my race season starts in 3 weeks and I'd like some input.

Is it O.K. doing squats 3x3 twice per wk and do the rest of the exercises following the original 5x5 so not to overload my legs and toast them 1/4 through the season????

Based on my training program, what approach should I take to continue the 5x5?

Thanks Bros

Road Warrior

2. Freddy

Freddy Junior Member

Hey bud, I would definitely reduce training volume and maybe frequency, as you suggested during your season.

You're a competitive athlete, and like most, you know where your priorities are. Weight training CANNOT interfer with your season.

Now, if I'm going to offer more advice, I need to know when you compete. How often do you compete? Whats your training like now that its in-season?

3. road warrior

My program has 4 periods:

Foundation: Nov-Feb
    Base Mileage, increase aerobic capacity 12-15 hr per wk

Prepartaion: mid feb-mid April
    shift to the anaerobic conditioning (intervals) and steadily build on it

Specialization: Late April-May
    Be racing at peak form for my biggest events

Transition: June

Do a mini version of this cycle for a late season peak in Sept.

Right now I average 15 hrs per wk on the bike and have been doing the gym following the 5x5 routine. I've started to increase the upper end of the aerobic engine and I am ready to pounce I can tell... plus I am feeling buff from the upper body work and my girl seems to like it too!!!!!!

Last yr I took home a paycheck from everyone of these events...

My race schedule will start wknds in late feb
    1st wknd sat/sun
    Two 56 mile Road Races

2nd wknd sat/sun