Any tips on raising HDL?

justanoob

Just got back another round of blood work since I started my “cruise” of 250mg Test and 100mg Primo a few weeks ago. My HDL=30 and LDL=64.

My HDL has never been high, even as a natural my HDL would range from 35-44. But normally on a cruise my HDL is around 40, so it dropping so much has me a little concerned.

Since my cholesterol ratio is technically fine, would my lower HDL even be a concern? Also, this is my first time ever cruising with primo, so maybe that’s what’s causing it to be so low?

Currently doing 30minutes of cardio 7x a week, taking 1000mg of citrus bergamot and 3500mg fish oil daily. Also considering starting niacin soon. Thank you for any feedback!

It seems you are doing all the right things. I doubt a doctor would be concerned about your cholesterol if your total cholesterol is within range.

Statins have shown to increase HDL cholesterol. These drugs do come with their fair share of side effects though. I would weigh the pros and cons of taking something like this or at least only take it for a short period and see if your hdl numbers rise. Statins can cause stress on your liver and even raise your blood sugar levels.

Some common statins are atorvastatin (Lipitor), fluvastatin (Lescol XL), lovastatin (Altoprev), pitavastatin (Livalo), pravastatin (Pravachol), rosuvastatin (Crestor, Ezallor) and simvastatin (Zocor, FloLipid).

In your case I would rather focus on keeping ldl low, because you don't seem to be genetically gifted to have high hdl. So best thing you can do is to keep ldl low, which is easier to do than raising hdl is.

By the way your current 2:1 ratio of ldl/hdl is great. I don’t see any reason to take any action here. Anything under 3:1 is considered good, ldl of 70-100 or below is considered as a very low cardiovascular risk.