• ATTENTION New Members: Please take a few moments to introduce yourself, show your commitment to harm reduction, and chat with the community in the "New Member Introduction" subforum. This will help unlock access to additional forum features and privileges.

cardio before or after the iron?

solo47

10+ Year Member
Why, exactly, do bodybuilders insists cardio should be done after pumping iron? On leg day, it has been my custom to do 20-30 minutes on the stairmaster and the leg & abdomen weights afterwards. Now I'm told I've been doing it back-asswards for these many years. Does it really matter?

Solo

i know when i do cardio after legs it really helps the ache .... i think it has something to do with the lactic acid your muscles store after lifting

I've always done it after if at all on workout days.
One thing is, it feels like it robs me of the energy if I were to do it before a workout.

On leg day I warm up on stationary bike then maybe 10 minutes on tread mill...then I pound the legs..all I can do at that point is get to the truck/get home and then eat.There is NO WAY I could do legs and then do cardio or do much cardio at all on leg day.When I work upper body I will always start work out with cardio if I am cutting,never the other way around.When I finish upper body I am heading out the door to eat..not walk on treadmaill..just my 2 cents.

Hey Solo,
Cardio work, in my opinion, should be done after your lifts, because doing cardio beforehand can hinder your workouts. This is because when you are hitting a lot of heavy loads and lifts - you are using energy from your glycogen stores to fuel you - Hence why it is recommended sometimes for a pre/during/post-workout meal with some carbs. This is to fuel your workouts.